Public Members Appointed to Council

April 1, 2021

Mr. Ayo Adediran and Ms. Barbara Joy have been appointed as Public Members of our Council. Their appointments were made by an Order in Council of the Lieutenant Governor.

Ayo Adediran is a Geoscientist currently working with a major oil and gas company supporting the entire oil and gas life cycle with innovative technology. He’s a passionate and demonstrated technology enabler with over 25 years professional experience that cuts across various industries including academic, environmental management, forestry, emergency response and oil and gas.

Mr. Adediran is a certified Geographic Information Systems Professional and holds a Master of Science degree in Environmental Management and Remote Sensing. He sits on the board of North America Geological Remote Sensing Society and is a volunteer for Calgary Police Service.

Barbara Joy is an energy executive who works with a private exploration firm focused on developing petroleum and natural gas resources in a sustainable and environmentally responsible manner. She has committee and board experience, currently serving as Vice-Chair with a private sport club and as President of a non-profit property corporation. Ms. Joy is a skilled negotiator forming long-lasting relationships with stakeholders including First Nations. She holds a degree from the University of Calgary and is a proud mother of three.

We look forward to Mr. Adediran and Ms. Joy joining our Council. Their experience will add valuable perspective to Council discussions.

Public Members’ Role

Public Members are appointed by the provincial government. Their role enhances our College’s ability to balance the values and interests of our registrants with those of the public to help our College act fairly, adhere to statutory or legal requirements, and develop and foster appropriate professional standards. They actively participate in Council meetings while raising the public interest profile. Since our first Public Member was appointed in 2004, they’ve been significant contributors to our progress. We’re confident that their participation will continue to advance our College.

As of April 1, 2021, the Health Professions Act requires that regulatory college councils (and other bodies like hearing tribunals and complaint review committees) include 50% public member representation. With the appointment of Mr. Adediran and Ms. Joy, our Council meets this requirement.

Current date: June 22, 2024

Scroll to Top